Success isn’t a Secret, it’s a Decision


Back to school one last time started on May 29, 2014. I was more afraid I would quit again than I was fiercely determined to press on.

Billy came home in October that year, and I was afraid he would derail me. Later he became very supportive, which helped me to start believing I might really graduate.

Then our dog died, Billy got a brain bleed, refused treatment, moved out, decided to come home, but died only a few hours after we decided he should come home, in December 2015.

I don’t know how I got through the spring 2016 semester. Billy died only three weeks before the semester started, and I was consumed with grief when I returned to school in the spring. I was very afraid I would quit again, since in the past I usually quit school whenever life got overwhelming. Dr. Hodgson, the department chair was also concerned I might drop out because it had always been my pattern.

It took me over fifty years to learn that successful people are the ones who choose a path, set goals, and keep going no matter how hard life gets at times.

I missed out on a lot by not learning the path to success a long time ago. Yes, it’s good that I figured it out, but not nearly as rewarding because many opportunities were squandered.

Life really is very short. We have to make the most of every moment we’re given to live the best life we can live.

3 comments on “Success isn’t a Secret, it’s a Decision

  1. “Squandered Opportunities” would make a good blog title/ We could each relate a squandered opportunity The best part is, most likely, we would never run out of material! Good blog. will Tweet it…Janelle

  2. Susan McRae says:

    So inspirational! If pride wasn’t a sin, you should be proud ! Go, Go, Go!

  3. harkatinyhum says:

    Thank you, Janelle and Sue. I’m sorry, but this is the first time I have seen your comments. I’m a bit unfamiliar with how to maneuver around WordPress.

Leave a Reply

