Just Checkin In….


I have been pretty busy but I wanted to check in briefly and get a post up before my account gets deleted or something.

Let’s see, what’s going on with me these days…? Hmmm… Well, Lawton has been the focus of national attention lately. These two teenage brothers posted a few youtube videos of one of them abusing the family cat. Youtube took it down, but the sheriff and TV station have been flooded with calls from around the world since it happened. Then on a message board, someone posted the kids full name, address, phone number, and his mother’s name and her email address. These kids are already in trouble with the law, but with their personal information out there, their lives could be in danger. This is the news story but don’t watch it if you are sensitive to graphic details (it was edited but still sickening to watch) of animal abuse. My computer only shows an X and not the video, so if you can’t see it here you can go to kswo.com.

Since I last blogged, Justin moved back to Lawton. He drove here from Tucson last month. He’s sharing a house with his sister and another rommate and happy to be home. He’s gonna enroll at Cameron this summer and finally go to college. He’s motivated because he doesn’t want to take thirty years to graduate, unlike his mom.

Speaking of me, I too have decided to finally finish my degree as well. I applied for admission at Cameron and hope to get started this summer. It shouldn’t take me more than a couple of years to finish up. I really need this. My cognitive abilities have diminished quite a bit, with the lengthy illness I had and other things. My vocabulary and writing skills have waned considerably. But I’m thinkin that with some brisk mental exercises, I can whip my brain back into shape in a semester or two! I was an English major and I don’t guess there is any sense in changing that, although I may go with English Education. Anyway, that’s what I’m gonna do.

That’s pretty much about all I can think of to tell y’all tonight. Thanks for stopping by!

4 comments on “Just Checkin In….

  1. stephanieee says:

    Good for you for going back to complete your degree! I wish I could do that, but there’s no money for it with two kids in college. That news clip was very disturbing. I couldn’t watch the whole thing. Sick!

  2. Cloud Mesa says:

    I’m glad to hear you’re going back to finish your degree. That’s quite an accomplisment. Good for you. I too couldn’t watch the video. It’s too disturbing to see animals abused. Good luck to your son as well. Tell him I said hey. Howard

  3. For a new post, this one seems surprisingly similar to one I read last year. ???

Leave a Reply

