Car Crash on East Gore Wednesday December 17, 2008


Billy and I had just left a Window Cleaning job in East Lawton this afternoon around 3 PM as students were leaving MacArthur High School. The road was closed so I attempted to detour through a residential area which took us right upon an accident scene on East Gore.
I decided to take pictures since I happened to have my camera with me. I don’t expect my photos to receive international recognition as Richard’s (http://giantmuh.blogspot.com/) have, but I didn’t want to miss the opportunity to get the pictures just the same.
A high school boy was driving a Cadillac westbound on Gore Blvd at a high rate of speed according to witnesses. A 68 year old woman was driving a pick up truck and was making a U-turn into the westbound lane of Gore Blvd. Witnesses said the Cadillac t-boned the pick up. The woman in the pick up was partially ejected. She was taken by helicopter to an Oklahoma City hospital. I don’t know how serious her injuries are. The high school boy wasn’t hurt.
From what little I know about what happened, I don’t understand why the woman made a U-turn into the path of a speeding vehicle. People grow impatient with my driving all the time. I rarely pull out when a car is even remotely close or even if it’s not close but appears to be driving very fast. “You can go now” is a common phrase used by whomever happens to be in my passenger seat. Personally, I don’t see the point in jumping into oncoming traffic to please my passenger or the people in the car behind me.
I also live on a highway where the speed limit is 65 mph. I drive the speed limit and am often passed on the right, and tailgated. When I’m tailgated I slow way down sometimes to 20 mph and they usually back off. Coming from Lawton, I have to turn left into my driveway. I always have to be aware of impatient drivers behind me who pass me on the left when I slow down to turn. Stephanie, I gotta tell ya, it ain’t so bad not driving!!!
One comment on “Car Crash on East Gore Wednesday December 17, 2008

  1. Stephanie says:

    Thanks, LeAnn. I do feel better about not driving when I see pictures like the ones you posted. Shudder.

Leave a Reply

